The tri is almost upon me, and the half marathon is looming up too quickly

How do triathletes (particularly those doing half or full ironman) ever fit in all that training and still go to work? Running, cycling and swimming it all takes so much time – do they ever get a day off – or time to do something else?

This is only a sprint tri, but I feel that I am constantly juggling getting out on the bike, swimming and running – and with a half marathon in October, I am feeling that I need to start upping the distance on my longer runs to train for that. So while I know I can do the triathlon, I am feeling under pressure.

I have enjoyed being out on my bike again, I had forgotten how much I enjoy cycling. And when a kind friend (who also sold me her second hand wetsuit) lent me her old road bike, well what a revelation! So much lighter, so much easier to get up hills, so much more frightening come down them! She has said I can borrow it for the tri as well – that might help my times!

I have been swimming in our local lake with the BRJ Run and Tri Club over the summer, and it has been absolutely delightful, the water has been warm and although it is not a clear lake it has been just lovely swimming outside. Last week, with the recent drop in temperature and so much rain the water was distinctly colder. What will Grafham water (a much bigger, deeper reservoir) be like in three weeks time? Brr – I am not good at cold and have been known to faint if I get too cold. The thought of coming out the water all wet and having to cycle in wet shorts and a skimpy top (I don’t posses a tri suit yet) is not appealing.

On the running plus side, I did go for an 8 mile run yesterday – very wet – but it felt ok, so just need to increase steadily over the next few weeks.

Off to Somerset this weekend, and a bit of parkrun tourism at Montacute House, should be lovely!

This entry was posted in BRJ Run and Tri, parkrun, Running, Triathlon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment